Skip to content

Forums Forums General Discussion Would the real Elfman, please stand up?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello there, beautiful people.

I am new here, a fresh lumpling, or whatever (just trying to be hip).

This is a post regarding the fact that Elfman is not an educated nor an autodidact (i don’t know if that is the accepted english term for it, but i mean self-taught) arranger or orchestrator. He does not even conduct, as far as i can tell.
    But being in the industry and being the band nerd (groopie) he claims to be, and having had the privilege of basking in the glory for many a project that is Shirley Walker, a true composer who wrote, arranged, orchestrated and conducted her own scores, all by herself. Now this is not ordinairy in the generic hollowood realm of musical composition. No one hardly does this anymore. Anyway, Elfman never conducted shit, Shirley Walker did, and Steve Bartek (whom i shall talk more about in a few moments, for he is truly the nucleus of Elfman’s genious).
    Elfman may play the piano, and sing, and write whimsical lyrics, and yes, he has a sweet and extraordinairy sense of melody that i love. i have loved Elfman scince i was a little kid. I was 4 or 5 when i first watched batman, even though my cognitive skills might not have been much, my sense and love of music was in full abundance.
    I loved the music and i had to fight not to hum and sing along…
    some years later, when i was 8, my life changed. A nightmare before christmas and edward scissorhands was absorbed by my retina and i was in a stasis of dream and imagination unlike anything i had experienced before.
    The visuals and story-telling was a great factor, to be shure, but the music…it was the music that truly captivated me.