Skip to content

Forums Forums General Discussion Elfman Studio Logo Themes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    FilmMusicKayaker
    Participant

Elfman fans! I have an obscure request – but what soundtrack fan doesnt enjoy obscure items?

According to a couple websites with film studio logo theme info, Elfman composed the logo theme for Hollywood Pictures (you can hear it on the While You Were Sleeping DVD and others); and for New Regency films in 1993. I have the recording of Hollywood Pictures (courtesy of the DVD) and now want to find the New Regency logo theme. According to Soundtrack.net it appeared on Sommersby, but I checked a VHS copy of the movie and the logo is silent, so either they are in error, or it was heard in theatres but not released on the VHS.

Anyone know if its at the beginning of the Sommersby DVD, or if they know of another DVD with the theme accompanying the logo?? The New Regency website lists several of their films, but many of them I dont have on DVD. Any help searching for this “Lost Ark” would be appreciated!

Thanks!

An Elfman “completist” fan

Ryan Keaveney
    Keymaster

The New Regency logo music is actually from the SOMMERSBY score. I believe you can hear/see the logo at the beginning of THE NEGOTIATOR.

FilmMusicKayaker
    Participant

Thanks rkeaveney! Now that’s good trivia! I will check that DVD – my brother has it I think. I see what you mean about the logo theme being ‘from’ the score…there is another example of that: Micheal Kamen’s logo fanfare for Morgan Creek pictures (can be heard on the “The Whole Nine yards” DVD) is derived from his ‘Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves’ score.

Thor
    Participant

Yup, it’s from SOMMERSBY. To my knowledge, Elfman has never written a specially composed logo theme for anything. One of the few things he HASN’T done yet.

Lucius
    Participant