Skip to content

Forums Forums General Discussion to boingo music

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    hobbestheprince
    Participant

Hey there, I noticed you have your e-mail disabled and your private message disabled as well, so I figured I would try to reach you through here.

I really liked your myspace stuff, especially the Danny Elfman inspired song … I was wondering if perhaps I can give you my e-mail or you can private message me or something, or even reply on here about some questions I have regarding your composing. I’m a composer too, and I was just wondering what you typically do to achieve a more “Danny Sound” for lack of a better term. I’m sure alot of people will say, “Write in a minor key …” but it’s more than that … I mean chords he typically uses, etc. I read he uses the tritone once in a while, and uses the phrygian scale in alot of his old work, which I really love.

Any help would be appreciated.

Eric

P.S. We have the same name :P

Anonymous
    Inactive

i`ll add in my 2pence here (i hope you dont mind)

if you have the music to listen to then you have most of the answers already (some might say all of the important ones, it depends on the type of composition and what one considers “understanding” to be, i can expand on this point if you like)

firstly play the piano or guitar or whatever instrument you have over the piece you are interested in, try and work out what key or keys it is in. (i dont think elfman writes atonal/pantonal music, ive not heard any anyway)

this will develop your ear and may turn up some interesting ideas (normally when you get it “wrong”, i.e. even if you try to copy a piece often your own tastes and idiosyncracies come through and it sounds different and more like you, the inability to hear and reproduce every detail is a positive in such instances, imo anyway)