Skip to content

Forums Forums General Discussion Why use Prince for Batman soundtrack?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Julieby
    Participant

I’m studying Danny Elfman’s score for Batman for my A-level Music Technology exam, and I’m clueless to why Elfman has used Prince, especially for the end credits.
    I don’t think that Prince adds any musical gain to the movie, and wondering was it just for commerical gain for the film?

Just wondering for your views, that’d be great. Thanks!

Julieby
    Participant

Apart from maybe in the scene with the Joker in the museum. I think that could just present his cartoony nature.

gordonblu
    Participant

It wasn’t Danny’s decision to use Prince on the soundtrack, that was the decision of Mr.Peters and Mr. Guber, the producers. But Danny did adapt Prince’s “Scandalous” into the love theme, probably more for consistency sake than anything else.

elfboy91
    Participant

Yeah! It’s all in the book: “Danny Elfman’s Batman: A Film Score Guide” by Janet K. Halfyard. Really awesome book. Everyone should have it!

boingomusic
    Participant

Well, actually, if you really listen closely, the 5 notes motif of Prince’s Scandalous theme IS Elfman’s Batman’s theme. The only difference is that the second note is one semi-tone lower. Instead of being : A – B – C – F – E (Elfman’s theme), it’s : A – Bflat – C – F – E !!!
    These are the same notes !

DannyBiker
    Participant

Yeah, that resemblance always made me wonder if this was pure coincidence or if Prince wrote the song after listening to Elfman’s music (hopefully…not the other way around !).