Skip to content

Forums Forums General Discussion Elfman’s Mysterious Mallet Instrument

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Chris
    Participant

Hey everybody, I’m new here.

I’m a huge Elfman fan, have been since I was young, and I pride myself on collecting as much of his work as possible. I’m an amateur composer, and my work is strongly influenced by Elfman’s.

Listening to his scores as religiously as I do, I can’t help but notice certain patterns. Sounds and motifs he repeats. Now I’m not talking about his obvious use of bells or the like, that’s a given. For example, the bullroarer sound you hear in the beginning of the Dead Presidents theme is the same sound you hear at the end of the Main Titles for The Frighteners. Repeating motifs in music have always fascinated me, and often times I can chalk up such strange sounds to synths Danny may have created over the course of his career that he likes to recycle.

There is, however, one instrument (I don’t believe it’s a synth) that I cannot place. I cannot for the life of me figure out what this instrument is. I’ve determined based on its timbre that it’s some kind of metallophone, perhaps with tubular bars since it sounds so similar to a wind chime. It has a wide tonal range, able to play very low notes and very high ones. I want more than anything to use this instrument in my work, but after all my research I have yet to find an instrument that sounds the same.

It is used very prominently in the Dead Presidents score. It comes in at around 38 seconds in the main theme, playing a steady tap of one note until 46 seconds in where the pace quickens and two notes are played in succession. It’s also very prominent in the piece “Nam”, where it’s the very first thing you hear before the drums set in. Dead Presidents is the only score I’ve heard it with such clarity. In his other work, it serves mainly as a backing instrument.